Learning on your own

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
SìneMac
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am new to the whistle and i think that joining this forum will help me to make the most out of learning. I look forward to learning from more experienced players, and sharing information.

Learning on your own

Post by SìneMac »

Hi all,
i'm new to the forum and also new to learning the whistle. Although i want to learn through a class or teacher, i haven't been able to find anything where i live. So i'm having to learn by myself until this changes. I'd appreciate any tips or advice on the best way to go about it. I can spare about an hour every day to practice, and i've found a few sites on youtube etc, which have been helpful. I am wondering how other players in my situation have managed to improve their skills and stay motivated. Any help would be great!
Thanks,
Sìne
Mikethebook
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Re: Learning on your own

Post by Mikethebook »

Hi Sine,