Looking for New Whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Eleanor1248
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I have been playing the tin whistle for about 3 years now and I'm looking for getting advice and inspiration for all the great people on this forum! I especially would like help with getting a new whistle. Thanks!

Looking for New Whistle

Post by Eleanor1248 »

Hi everyone! I'm looking for some advice on getting a new whistle.

I've been playing for about three years. My first whistle was a Clarke Celtic, and I loved it to bits. I also tried a Walton and a Clarke Original and didn't like them nearly as much, especially not in the second octave. After a while, my Celtic started getting a little banged up (I wasn't half as careful with it as I now realise I should have been... >.<) and I decided that I wanted to upgrade to a really good, solid whistle. After some research and advice from my teacher, I got a Killarney, which I do like especially now that I've gotten used to it, but which doesn't quite have the tone that I'd like it to. It's a little too...muffled, almost? Hard to explain. It's almost like if it were a person, it'd have a stuffy nose. I realise that maybe I'm just being picky, but all the same, I'd like to find a whistle that I'm happier with.