Davy Spillane making Whistles?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Mikethebook
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: May 2022, I'm a second-time beginner to the whistle and low whistle after a three-year gap due to a chest injury brought to an end twelve years of playing. I've started on a high whistle and much is coming back quickly but it will be a while before I can manage a Low D again where my interest really lies. I chiefly love slow airs rather than dance tunes and am a fan of the likes of Davy Spillane, Eoin Duignan, Fred Morrison and Paddy Keenan.

Davy Spillane making Whistles?

Post by Mikethebook »

Some years ago, there was much talk on the forum about Davy Spillane making whistles and a synthetic head low D akin to a Howard was reviewed. A video just filmed/released infers he is making all-aluminium low whistles (see from 1:30 on https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FjgEWdTRXE). He has tubing stacked up in a corner of his workshop and briefly plays a low D that is Goldie/Overton-like but I'm not sure is either. Possibly he made it (as an aside, on the workshop table is what looks like the original big-holed short-beaked whistle he is known for playing). It sounds really nice . . . but then he can probably get a great sound out of any whistle. Maybe he makes them for himself. If he's selling them, he is doing so quietly but then he has never advertised the making of Uilleann Pipes. Intriguing! Anyone fancy trying one?
Mr.Gumby

Re: Davy Spillane making Whistles?

Post by Mr.Gumby »

See the review of one of his whistles, years ago, by 'Bloomfield' on this forum

A few years ago there was an exhibition of three local instrument makers, Martin Doyle, Paul Dooley and Davy Spillane, in the Courthouse Gallery in Ennistymon. The Spillane whistle on display there was more of a Howard style one with a plastic head. Like a big Generation.