Buying new whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
LordG07
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: New to whistles want to learn more, I photograph a lot of Scottish and celtic bands and now want to learn how to play

Buying new whistle

Post by LordG07 »

Hi all Im trying to decide on buying a new whistle. I am a beginner but want to get something that is going to last me and something I'm going to learn with.

The type of music Im looking to play is trad play songs like the Gael etc. I even want to when I get better play covers from some albums.

The whistles I have been looking at are Dixon tunable( I think its plastic), Tilbury, and feadog blackbird. I have about 75+ to spend because right now I'm on disability. Let me knob that you think and if you maybe have other sugestions too.

Cheers,
Gary
tin tin
Tell us something.: To paraphrase Mark Twain, a gentleman is someone who knows how to play the spoons and doesn't. I'm doing my best to be a gentleman.

Re: Buying new whistle

Post by tin tin »

I've never tried a Tilbury, so can't comment, but the Dixon and (do you mean Jerry Freeman?) Blackbird are nice. I like the Freeman Bluebird even better. I also really like the brass Killarney whistle--that's the one I use. http://killarneywhistle.com/
mcvarishdc

Post by mcvarishdc »

I have a Tilbury. I like it but it is quite soft and is also very sensitive to the pressure of blowing. I also have Dixons, and they are reliable easy to play whistled, good for a beginner.
LordG07
Tell us something.: New to whistles want to learn more, I photograph a lot of Scottish and celtic bands and now want to learn how to play

Post by LordG07 »