Tonguing and slurring

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
jason341
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a beginning tin whistle player. I am hoping that I can get some help to be able to learn. I especially want help to learn about tonguing and slurring.

Tonguing and slurring

Post by jason341 »

Hello, I just started playing the tin whistle recently, and I could really use some wisdom on tonguing and slurring, any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Mr.Gumby

Re: Tonguing and slurring

Post by Mr.Gumby »

My brain hurts

ytliek
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by ytliek »

Welcome to the whistle forum.

Even searching here on the Chiff the debate whether to use tonguing or not could seem confusing. You have to listen to a lot of whistling to determine whether you like it or not and how to do it your self. Look for the middle ground.

Enjoy your whistling.
tstermitz

Post by tstermitz »

One of the best pieces of advice I received when I started was to avoid tonguing - just slur all the notes. I came from recorder where tonguing is pretty dominant, and slurring every note got me out of that habit. It forced me to learn cuts from the very beginning at least for adjacent same-notes. Most importantly, it required me to develop efficient and clean fingering.

One philosophy is that a whistle owes more to piping than to fiddle styling The pipes don't have any tongue articulations, so the whistle should emulate the pipes. It's only one truth, but I can appreciate that point of view. My present project is sort of the opposite, i.e. trying to emulate fiddle, but that's just me.

I'm using more tonguing now than when I started, figuring that I should take advantage of all available options.

But, I still return frequently to all slurring to see if my finger articulations are clean.
Mr.Gumby

Post by Mr.Gumby »