Clarke Original Tweak or Not to Tweak

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Tyler DelGregg
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Whistles are fun, whistles are charming, whistles sound nice, whistles are affordable, whistles make us smile, whistles make dogs bark, and whistles upset some neighbors.

Clarke Original Tweak or Not to Tweak

Post by Tyler DelGregg »

Does the Clarke Original HAVE to be tweaked to some degree?
I own 3 Clarke Originals. I tweaked one D. The other two are a C and a D, both totally untweaked.
They each have a unique voice which I like.
So, does Clarke design it (since 1843) to be tweaked by the owner, or is it really meant to be played in its natural state? What do the really good players do? I am a novice, by the way.
calanthrophy

Re: Clarke Original Tweak or Not to Tweak

Post by calanthrophy »

I wouldn't call myself a "really good player" by any means but all I did to mine was put a little wax around the wood block to cut down on air leakage.

Can't speak to the manufacturer's intentions but I wouldn't say it HAS to be tweaked. It'll play tunes straight out of the box, just as your CPU doesn't HAVE to be overclocked for PC gaming. Depending on your needs, skills, and level of enthusiasm you might decide to make adjustments.
My acoustic recordings (with whistles, of course):
https://soundcloud.com/jake_thiele
Words I write:
http://jakeisalwaysright.blogspot.com
Mr.Gumby

Post by Mr.Gumby »

What do the really good players do?
I can only recall very few instances of the Clarke being played. Caoimhin O Ragallaigh and Peadar O Riada use them in the context of An Triúr but I cannot recall (m)any other instances in at least the last decade of the Clarke being played publicly or in a social context. YMMV ofcourse.
Last edited by Mr.Gumby on Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
My brain hurts

ytliek
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10