Has anyone made a ridiculously large bore whistle for fun?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I was just wondering if someone with whistle making skill had ever applied said skills to making a whistle with a larger diameter section of pipe (like 2-4" diameter) and how did it go?
Nathaniel James Dowell
ericgrey

Re: Has anyone made a ridiculously large bore whistle for fu

Post by ericgrey »

Check out the wonderful Daniel Bingamon's site.

http://www.bingamon.com/jubilee/pagesmith/39
AngelicBeaver
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I wasn't speaking of Bass whistles exactly. I was thinking more of something like a soprano D with a 1 or 2" diameter pipe or a low D with a 3 or 4" diameter pipe. I know that larger bore instruments are generally louder than their narrow bore counterparts, but I'm curious how far you can go. Obviously, your fingers need to be able to close over the holes, but what else is affected by such extreme diameters?
Nathaniel James Dowell
ggiles

Post by ggiles »

The whistle calculators say ... No .... but them I'm just plugging in numbers. Someone really understanding the mathematics of sound could give you an answer.
tin tin
Tell us something.: To paraphrase Mark Twain, a gentleman is someone who knows how to play the spoons and doesn't. I'm doing my best to be a gentleman.

Post by tin tin »